Topic 5: Lesson learnt – future practice

I have learnt many new things during this course. For instance, how collaborative the work within the digital tools could be. Moreover, I have got knowledge about the extension of Bloom´s taxonomy which now includes blended learning activities (Andersson and Kratwohl, 2001). I have also started to realise the complexity regarding legal aspects related to publication of material on the Internet. Perhaps the best thing about the course is that it changed how I think about myself as a teacher in a digital world. Let me explain, when I started the course I had never had a blog, Twitter® or participated in any online social community network e.g. Facebook®, and I had never used any of the collaborative digital tools I got the chance to try out during this course. I though of my self as hopelessly behind when it came to Internet technology compared to younger people. However, this course has really showed me that motivation is a key to success, or as the NMH Horizon Report (2017) puts it students continues to be motivated when they can observe the link between “new skills” and the “real world”. Surely, several of the course participants finish with more skills in digital tools but my journey has taken me far, as I literally started in the basement.   With that being said I will no longer dwell in the past. Instead I will start implementing some of the digital tools we have explored together in the PBL group in some of the courses that I teach. I am particularly fond of prezi® since I think that it would go well with some of the intended learning outcomes. Even thought I experienced some technical problems during the collaboration in the prezi®. Therefore I will apply for administration rights for my work computer so I can do updates for e.g. Adobe flash player®. When choosing blended learning activities for the courses I will try out consulting the extended Bloom´s taxonomy. I am a bit exiting about this actually; I hope my colleagues bear with me.

 

Finally, I wonder what to do with the blog? I guess it is time to shut it down. It was a nice experience thought, to share reflections. Thanks for your thoughtful comments!

 

References

Anderson, L.W. (Ed.), Krathwohl, D.R. (Ed.), Airasian, P.W., Cruikshank, K.A., Mayer, R.E., Pintrich, P.R., Raths, J., & Wittrock, M.C. (2001). A taxonomy for learning, teaching, and assessing: A revision of Bloom’s Taxonomy of Educational Objectives (Complete edition). New York: Longman.

NMH Horizon Report 2017 Higher Education Edition. https://opennetworkedlearning.wordpress.com/onl171-course-activities/overview-and-schedule-onl-171/ Retrieved from ONL 171 website 26 April 17.

 

En reaktion på ”Topic 5: Lesson learnt – future practice

  1. It was really nice to see what impact the course had on you. Why not leave the blog as it is and come back to it in a year and reflect on what happened?

    Gilla

Lämna en kommentar